Rao Prize

The three Rao Prizes for the most outstanding student talks at the 1997 meeting will be presented. The winners are Andrea Callegari , Princeton University; Christopher J. Gruenloh, Purdue University; Matthew P. Jacobson, MIT. The Rao Prize was created by a group of spectroscopists who, as graduate students, benefitted from the emphasis on graduate student participation, which has been a unique characteristic of the Symposium. This coming June three more Rao Prizes will be awarded. In order to be eligible for the Rao Prize, a student must (i) be primary author of the work being presented; (ii) be the actual presenter of the talk; (iii) never have competed for the Rao Prize prior to this year; and (iv) not have completed a Ph.D. thesis prior to March 2, 1998. If a student wishes to compete for the Rao Prize, he or she should indicate this in the comment area of the abstract (due by March 2) for the talk they wish to be judged and enclose a letter from the research supervisor certifying that the student meets all four of the above requirements. The letter of certification is not a nomination letter and will not be considered by the prize judges. The award is administered by a Prize Committee chaired by Arlan Mantz, Connecticut College, and comprised of Kevin Lehmann, Princeton University; John Muenter, University of Rochester; Deanne Snavely, Bowling Green University; Michael Heaven, Emory University; and Dan Willey, Allegheny College. Any questions or suggestions about the Prize should be addressed to the Committee. Anyone (especially post-docs) willing to serve on a panel of judges should contact Arlan Mantz (e-mail: awman@conncoll.edu).
| Plenary & Special Sessions| Registration Etc.| Abstract Submission Info | Meeting Program| Archive Etc.| Email| FTP site| Home Page| Credits|

Last Update: Mon Oct 20 1997