Click for normal version

Undergraduate Physics at The Ohio State University

Undergrad Home | Handbook | Courses | Advising | Scholarships & Awards | Graduation Info | Student Organizations | Research | Transfer Credit

Student Organizations 2011-2012

Society of Physics Students (SPS)

The purpose of the Society of Physics Students (SPS) is to promote the development of physics students through interactions with fellow students, faculty, and visiting physicists. Meetings are held every other week in the Undergraduate Physics Student Lounge (1011 Smith Lab) and consist of talks from faculty and outside speakers on diverse topics in physics, and lab tours.

President: Sam Sung, sung.109@osu.edu
Vice President: Christian Schnaible, schnaible.4@osu.edu
Treasurer: Martin Dalefield, dalefield.1@osu.edu
Secretary: Tim Vajas, vajas.2@osu.edu
Advisor: Robert Perry, perry.6@osu.edu
Website: http://www.physics.ohio-state.edu/sps

Sigma Pi Sigma Physics Honor Society

Sigma Pi Sigma exists to honor outstanding scholarship in physics; to encourage interest in physics among all students; to promote an attitude of service of its members toward their fellow students, colleagues, and the public; and to provide a fellowship of persons who have excelled in physics. The main activities of the society involve outreach projects to enhance the teaching of science in middle and high schools in Ohio.

President: Aleks Shkayev, shkayev.1@osu.edu
Vice-President: Michael Bettencourt, bettencourt.7@osu.edu
Treasurer: Michael Eades, eades.15@osu.edu
Secretary: Matt Gerberich, gerberich.1@osu.edu
Advisor: Jay Gupta, gupta.208@osu.edu
Website: http://www.physics.ohio-state.edu/sigma

Society of Women in Physics

The Society of Women in Physics was formed to encourage female students to become interested in the fields of science and technology and network with students and faculty in those fields. Activities of the Society of Women in Physics include arranging for physicists to visit the campus to talk about their research and accomplishments, and outreach projects such as tutoring and hosting a summer camp for middle age school girls.

President: Anastasia Lawson, lawson.351@osu.edu
Treasurer: Marisa Mulac, mulac.5@osu.edu
Advisor: Lindsey Thaler, thaler.21@osu.edu
Website: http://www.physics.ohio-state.edu/undergrad/Women_in_Physics
Website for GRASP Summer Camp: http://www.physics.ohio-state.edu/undergrad/GRASP
Third Annual Women in Physics Conference hosted by the OSU Physics Department website